Rules for Traveling

Please note that the currency in Czech Republic is Czech Krona (CZK), not Euros!

The Czech Republic became a member of the EU in 2004. There are different rules for citizens of other EU member countries than for tourists from other parts of the world. Everyone must carry ID at all times.

EU citizens

Citizens of EU member states need a passport or other ID document to enter the Czech Republic. The same is true for citizens of Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, who enjoy free movement around the EEA (European Economic Area).

Non-EU citizens

Visitors from other countries require a passport with at least six months' validity on the day of arrival and in some cases a visa. A list of states whose citizens do not require a visa to enter the Czech Republic can be found on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website.

Schengen zone

On December 21, 2007, the Czech Republic have entered the so-called Schengen Zone. This group of counties have come together to enable people to cross their borders without passport controls. Despite this, however, a valid passport or other ID will still have to be carried at all times.